January 22, 2013   3 comments

 

OK, it’s been way too long since I wrote anything remotely homestead-y. I was sick for two weeks and when I’m sick I’m whiny and, well, no one should blog when they are whiny. I was feeling sorry for myself coz the weather had been so nice and I missed a whole perfect weekend to do stuff around our house. *sniff-sniff* ;D

Anyway, I’m better now and am starting to get re-motivated (it takes a bit for me to regain steam after that sort of thing). We prepped and planted onions and chives in the front yard this week. We’re going down to our fave nursery on Thursday to pick up some bare root trees. I’d like two peaches, one for the front and one for the back. I’d also like to get an avocado tree so we can get that going. The Teenager wants to try an apple tree. Supposedly Braeburn’s can do well here. We’ll see. As warm as our winters are (last week not withstanding) it makes me a bit nervous but if there’s one thing I’ve learned working on the farm is that the best way, or maybe just the most enjoyable way, to learn is trial and error. πŸ™‚

Below are some pictures of the past few weeks.

1 (2)

1 (3)

1

3

1000-1

1000-1a

1000-1b

1000-2

1000-3a

1000-3b

a

b

c

d

e

f

g

OK, so this isn’t homesteading related. It was Spock’s baptismal remembrance day at school. Always a blessing to remember where he was when he was baptized (in a NICU isolet in the ECMO room at CHOC–3 days old) and how blessed we have been with his health and his intelligence and his physical development…shoot, just that he’s even alive and with us. πŸ™‚

h

j

i

1000-3c

All this homesteading stuff is tiring. πŸ™‚

Posted January 22, 2013 by Sara-Stanley in In the Beginning

Tagged with , ,

3 responses to “January 22, 2013

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can so relate to being sick….all of this homesteading stuff is tiring! I also noted you gave me a link I am flattered and I will return the favor just give me a day or two…hope all is well! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

