Birthdays on a Money Diet   Leave a comment

As I previously wrote, we are participating in the Money Diet this month. We also have two birthdays this month. It’s actually turned out for the best since it’s forced us to get creative…and we didn’t have to take Babycakes to a restaurant. (I can’t be the only mother of a 3yo who doesn’t find that a relaxing time. :D)

So, yesterday was The Teenager’s birthday. Since he’s a teenager he likes pizza. He also doesn’t like traditional birthday cake (or anyone singing to him). For this reason, when I came home from the farm I was pleased to find that my order from Williams-Sonoma (yes, I’m that kind of snob) had arrived.

a

This is a pastry cloth and rolling-pin cover. Let me just say that this is probably the least expensive, best thing I’ve ever bought from WS. I love it. I can’t wait to use it for sugar cookies today.  But I’m getting ahead of myself. 🙂

b

First, the funny part. For prepping the cloth, it says to “spill a goodly amount of flour…” I’m not sure what a goodly amount is. It also used words like “hence.” It’s like reading a Jane Austen novel, only shorter. 😉 Anyway, I figured it out, I guess, coz it worked great.

c

In fact, maybe it worked too well. I’ve never had that much left over crust before.

e

Store everything around the pin. It claims that washing it is unnecessary if you scrape it properly after each use. Not sure how long I can take it though. Maybe as long as it takes me to find a “washboard” and figure out what a “Turkish towel” is. (Instruction words)

d

Braniac helped me with the filling. Maybe that’s what went wrong? OK, I don’t think that’s it, but the pie didn’t come out the same. I was disappointed. I’m not sure if it’s because the crust was thinner, or if it was because I forgot to put the foil around the edge of the crust, or if it was because I didn’t have the light on the whole time inside the oven. These are the three things that were different than the one I made for Christmas Eve which came out perfectly.

f

A rare picture of me taken by Braniac. Yes, it’s a W-S apron. Hey, it’s very good quality. And, yes, my kitchen window (and all my windows) could do with a washing. 🙂

g

Then it was time to get the pizza’s ready. We used the Bob’s Red Mill recipe for GF pizza crust (but used Gluten-Free Pantry flour).

h j i

Yes, we need three pizzas. Cheese, with two slices with garlic; pepperoni, mushrooms, and half-pineapple; pepperoni, garlic, bell peppers, and pineapple.

It came out pretty good. The kids all liked it except for super-picky Braniac. I will add some seasonings to the crust next time though to give it a bit more flavor since the kids don’t like a lot of sauce coz it just makes the cheese fall off….come to think of it, I feel the same. 🙂

k l

On to dessert. The pie was a disappointment. It was edible, fortunately, but the filling didn’t solidify like it should. The whipped cream was great though. I use regular sugar, and a lot less of it. 1 TBSP/cup heavy whipping cream. It makes it sweet without being grossly sweet. It’s baker’s sugar so maybe that’s why it’s not gritty like you would expect from regular sugar.

No pics of the teenager, he’s afraid of cameras. Maybe I’ll sneak in and get a pic of him sleeping. 😉 Anyway, we got him The Weekend Homesteader by Anna Hess for his birthday. I wasn’t expecting such a fancy binding. It’s got huge margins too. Maybe to write notes in? Anyway, praying it will serve him well.

Posted January 4, 2013 by Sara-Stanley in In the Beginning

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

