Homestead Resolutions   1 comment

I suppose, like everyone else, it’s time I make some resolutions for next year. In nearly 1/2 a century of living (I love making myself sound ancient. ;)) I’ve learned that making small goals is better than large ones. My small goals for our homesteading this year are pretty simple; at least, I hope they are. 🙂

1) Finish The Weekend Homesteader by Anna Hess. This book has been very helpful. It breaks things down into do-able jobs for those of us who can’t homestead full-time. We’ve just about finished December, which is the chapter we started with, so, hopefully, we’ll be finished by the beginning of next December.

2) Learn to preserve food. I don’t really have a perfect book for this yet (ie I haven’t read any modern books on it coz I haven’t been to the library). I have read a few websites that I like. My favorite so far is Simply Canning.

3) Menu Planning. This includes making our own stuff, from scratch as much as possible. I haven’t cooked on a regular basis pretty much since I had kids. When I’m pregnant I can’t stand the smell of cooking food so we get take-out a lot. When I’m post-partum I usually have PPD so I don’t really feel much like doing anything except being a you-know-what. Fortunately, that era is behind me (see, there are advantages to getting old hehe).

To start out the year, we’re going to participate in the Money Diet at Happy Simple Living. I figured that would be good incentive for cooking. I will also be participating in the Hello Mornings Challenge, again. This has been a great help to me. The goal of the program is to help folks get up earlier so they have time or the things they think they never have time for, namely their quiet time/Bible study and exercise. I can assure you I flunk the exercise portion every time. Gotta find some old lady workout video or something. 😀

I know a lot of other things will come up during the year that might add to this, but with a basic list like this, hopefully nothing will come up that will change it.

Posted December 28, 2012 by Sara-Stanley in In the Beginning

One response to “Homestead Resolutions

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Birthdays on a Money Diet « Our New, City Homestead

Leave a Reply

