Pumpkin Pie   Leave a comment

Haven’t posted much from the home front in a while since, well, I’ve hardly been here. When we homeschooled all the kids, we took the month of December off, and now I know why. Things really ran down to the wire with performances of The Nutcracker going right up to Christmas Eve. Instead of making my #3 son’s birthday cupcakes & Santa’s cookies from scratch, I used a mix this year. But I did want to finally try pie. I know I can do GF cake & cookies from scratch, but I had yet to try pie. It’s much easier than I suppose it would have been just a few years ago. There are a myriad of pre-fabbed GF flour mixes these days that make baking just about everything easier. I like Gluten-Free Pantry the best. It’s a good tasting mix, and it’s less than half the cost of King Arthur’s mix. Of course, King Arthur has great recipes, which is what I used for the crust.

a

I didn’t do the filling from scratch this year. I figured the crust would be enough stress for one season. I was very surprised at how easy the crust was and how great it came out. I did have to patch it up in the plate but that didn’t affect the flavor at all, nor the appearance. I hope to try to make the filling from scratch next year so I can more easily adjust the sweetness. The Trader Joe’s filling is really delicious, but it was a bit on the sweet side for us. (BTW, I did not use the Egg Nog in the pie, it’s just on the table coz I drink a lot of it until it goes out of the stores. :))

a

Posted December 26, 2012 by Sara-Stanley in In the Beginning

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

