Sunday, November 25   Leave a comment

We didn’t do a whole lot this week. With Thanksgiving, the younger kids were out of school, and we went to San Diego for a few days. We *were* able to get most of the first part of the front yard done with my husband’s help. Most of the weeding is done, and he laid out the covering to put the mulch on. We ran out of time to buy the mulch but we can get that done easily this week. Next I would like to work on cutting back the neighbor’s trees which are forever leaning into our property and even onto our roof. This will make a noticeable difference in the appearance of the yard as well as give us an idea of how much shade will be on that side if we keep it all trimmed up. The wood we get as a result of this project will come in very handy. I have to check into making mulch from the leaves.

In great news, my son will be taking a volunteer position at a local dairy farm. And, because he is a minor still, I have to stay with him; so, if they can have me do something separate, I think I will volunteer as well. We’ll see how that works with my preschooler. We can do two days a week with the preschooler’s school schedule.

In other household business, I really need to get busy in the playroom. We are going to basically gut it and turn it into a study/play room. The room needs to be cleared of everything. The closet door needs repair. The faux wood paneling needs to come down and fresh paint, possibly wallpaper, needs to go up. I’ll clean the carpet after that and we’ll need to find some inexpensive desks. I have two, maybe three, that can be used in there, but we have five kids so we will need a couple more. This all needs to be done before January 1. That is my goal, then I am moving on to the “master” bedroom. I use quotes because our bedroom is actually the boys’ old bedroom. They outgrew it and are now in the real master bedroom. 🙂

Posted November 25, 2012 by Sara-Stanley in In the Beginning

Leave a Reply

